RESOLUTION NO. 2022-010



A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS, CASTING ITS VOTE IN THE RUNOFF ELECTION FOR THE FOURTH MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE DALLAS CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT; AND PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, Dallas County eligible taxing entities have expressed and approved an option which allows for representation to the Appraisal District Board of Directors (in accordance with Section 6.03 of the Texas Property Tax Code) as follows:

- 1. The City of Dallas shall appoint one (1) member to the Board.
- 2. The Dallas Independent School District shall appoint one (1) member to the Board.

3. The Dallas County Commissioners Court shall appoint one (1) member to the Board. The member appointed by the Dallas County Commissioners Court shall not be a resident of either the City of Dallas or the Dallas Independent School District.

4. Each of the incorporated cities and towns, except for the City of Dallas, shall have the right to nominate by an official resolution one (1) candidate as the fourth member of the Board of Directors. The said cities and towns shall, from the nominations received, elect by a majority vote, with each city and town being entitled to one (1) vote, the fourth member of the Board of Directors.

5. Each of the School Districts, and the Dallas County Community College District, except the Dallas Independent School District, shall have the right to nominate by an official resolution one (1) candidate as the fifth member of the Board of Directors. The said school districts shall, from the nominations received, elect by a majority vote, with each school district and the community college district being entitled to one (1) vote, the fifth member of the Board of Directors.

The votes required for election to the Board of Directors in 4 and 5 above shall be by a majority of those authorized to vote in 4 and 5 respectively and not by a majority of the quorum; and

WHEREAS, since none of the nominated candidates for the incorporated cities and towns with the exception of the City of Dallas received a vote of the majority of such cities and towns a runoff election is required between the two nominees with the highest number of votes cast for the fourth member of the Board of Directors of the Dallas Central Appraisal District; and

WHEREAS, the City of Farmers Branch, does hereby cast its vote by marking the ballot below: (Check one only)

Х	

Michael Hurtt Brett Franks

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS:

SECTION 1. That That the City Council of the City of Farmers Branch, Texas, does hereby confirm its one (1) vote for the election of Michael Hurtt as the suburban cities' representative to the Board of Directors of the Dallas Central Appraisal District.

SECTION 2. That this Resolution shall become effective immediately upon from and after its passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS, THIS 4th DAY OF JANUARY 2022

ATTEST:

APPROVED:

Amy Piukana, City Secretary

Robert C. Dye, Mayor

APPROVED AS TO FORM: Peter G. Smith

Peter G. Smith, City Attorney (PGS12-28--21 TM 126778)