RESOLUTION NO. 2022-008



A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS, APPOINTING THE REDISTRICTING COMMISSION; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, the City of Farmers Branch is divided into five (5) Council districts, known as Districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 as described in the Judgment of United States District Court in Fabela v. City of Farmers Branch, No. 3:10-CV-1425-D (N.D. Tex.) (January 31, 2018); and

WHEREAS, Section 7.10 of the Farmers Branch City Charter requires the City Council to appoint a redistricting commission, starting in January 2022, and every ten (10) years thereafter, to review the Council District boundaries to maintain a substantial equality of population in each District; and

WHEREAS, the redistricting commission shall advise the Council, which shall within six (6) months after appointment fix the boundaries of the Council Districts by ordinance, if necessary; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor and each Councilmember shall appoint at least one member of the redistricting commission; and

WHEREAS, in making appointments to the redistricting commission, the City shall, as nearly as may be practicable, provide fair and balanced representation of all geographical areas of the City in the redistricting process and provide a total membership that reflects the racial and ethnic makeup of the city's population; and

WHEREAS, the City Council finds it to be in the public interest to appoint the persons named herein to the redistricting commission each of whom are qualified voters and meet the qualifications for service on a City board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS THAT:

SECTION 1. The City Council hereby establishes a redistricting commission for 2022 composed of two (2) regular members and one (1) alternate member for each of the five (5) Council Districts with the Mayor designating one (1) member and the chair of the redistricting commission. The alternate members of the redistricting commission shall serve in the absence of a regular member of the redistricting commission for the respective Council District. The members of the redistricting commission shall serve a term that will end upon completion of the redistricting commission's work.

SECTION 2. The City Council hereby confirms the appointment of the following persons appointed by the Mayor and each Councilmember to the redistricting commission.

District 1

	Place
Lauren Sanchez	Regular
Vanessa Van Noy Smith	Regular
Natalie Lundsteen	Alternate

District 2

	Place
Christy Dimon	Regular
Jorge Gonzalez	Regular
Lacey Pittman Tomanek	Alternate

District 3

	Place
August Martin	Regular
Jessica Zavala	Regular
Nancy Hardie	Alternate

District 4

	Place
David Koch	Regular
Luis Currea	Regular
Richard Jackson	Alternate

District 5

	Place
Michael Rogan	Regular
Delia Gonzales	Regular
Stacey Baker	Alternate

Mayor At Large

	Place
Bronson Blackson	Chair
Calpurnia Percy Root	Regular

SECTION 3. This resolution shall be effective immediately upon final passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS, THIS 4th DAY OF JANUARY 2022.

ATTEST:

Amy Piukana City Secretary

APPROVED:

Robert C. Dye, Mayor

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Peter G. Smith

Peter G. Smith, City Attorney (PGS 12-23-21 TM 126771)