## **RESOLUTION NO. 2022-089**



A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS, ESTABLISHING THE COMPREHENSIVE PLAN STAKEHOLDER ADVISORY COMMITTEE; ESTABLISHING THE PURPOSE AND ADOPTING CERTAIN PROCEDURES RELATING TO THE APPOINTMENT AND FUNCTION OF SAID COMMITTEE; APPOINTING THE INITIAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS; AND PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

**WHEREAS,** the City Council has previously authorized the preparation of an update to the City's Comprehensive Plan pursuant to Chapter 213 of the Texas Local Government Code; and

WHEREAS, in order to better ensure the diverse residential and business communities within the City are given a meaningful opportunity to communicate their respective interests, concerns, and opinions about the City's character and participate in shaping the vision and goals for the City for the next ten years, the City's consultants have developed a plan to engage the public (the "Public Engagement Plan") as part of the development of the Comprehensive Plan update; and

WHEREAS, as part of the Public Engagement Plan, the City's consultants have recommended the establishment of a Stakeholder Advisory Committee to include representatives from different community sectors/institutions, community members, and other stakeholders, whose purposes is to guide the entire planning process, review draft material, and provide input on the public engagement process as it evolves; and

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of Farmers Branch, Texas, finds it to be in the public interest to create the Stakeholder Advisory Committee and to appoint the members to said Committee.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS, THAT:

**SECTION 1.** The City Council does hereby establish an ad hoc committee to be known as the "Comprehensive Plan Stakeholder Advisory Committee" (the "Committee"). The Committee shall have fifteen (15) members consisting of:

- A. two (2) members of the City Council;
- B. two (2) members appointed from the Planning & Zoning Commission nominated by the Planning & Zoning Commission;
- C. one (1) member appointed from each of the following board or committee from nominations by the board being represented: Library Board, Senior Advisory Board, Art & Culture Committee, Sustainability Committee, Parks and Recreation Board, and Historical Preservation & Restoration Board; and

D. one (1) City resident appointed by each councilmember (not including the Mayor), for a total of five (5) additional members who are City residents.

The most senior member of the Planning & Zoning Commission shall serve as temporary chair at the initial organizational meeting of the Committee until election of the permanent chair. The Committee's first action following the convening of the initial meeting shall be to elect a permanent chair and vice-chair from among its members.

**SECTION 2.** Vacancies occurring on the Committee from resignation, death, or other reason within the first two (2) months after the organizational meeting of the Committee shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment of the person who vacated the person's position on the Committee. Vacancies occurring on the Committee after the first two (2) months after in initial organizational meeting (other than the councilmember positions) shall not be filled unless the number of the remaining members on the Committee decreases to fewer than ten (10) members.

**SECTION 3**. The purpose and charge of the Committee is to assist and advise the City's staff and consultants regarding the entire planning process related to the Comprehensive Plan update, review draft material, and provide input on the public engagement process as it evolves. The Committee shall be solely advisory.

**SECTION 4.** The Committee members shall serve from their date of appointment and swearing in through the date the City Council adopts at which time the Committee shall dissolve. No dissolving resolution shall be necessary.

**SECTION 5.** The Committee shall establish its rules of procedures and a schedule for regular meetings subject to the following:

- A. The quorum for the Committee shall be eight (8), inclusive of the Chairperson;
- B. Approval of any matter by the Committee shall require the affirmative vote of a majority of the members present; and
- C. The Committee shall comply with the provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Act to the same extent as the City's standing committees.

**SECTION 6.** The following people shall be appointed to the following identified positions on the Committee:

Position	Appointee
City Council Member Position 1	
City Council Member Position 2	
Resident – District 1	Johannes Hylkema
Resident – District 2	Bronson Blackson
Resident – District 3	Anne Marie (Annie) Storer
Resident – District 4	Scott Anderson

Position	Appointee
Resident – District 5	Joe Patterson
Planning & Zoning Commission	Amber Raley
– Position 1	
Planning & Zoning Commission	Marcus Miller
– Position 2	
Library Board	Jessica Rodriguez
Senior Advisory Board	Deborah Hull
Art & Culture Committee	David Moore
Sustainability Committee	Loren Rives
Parks & Recreation Board	Daniel Musto
Historical Preservation &	Christian Martinez
Restoration Board	

**SECTION 7.** This Resolution shall take effect immediately upon its passage.

## PASSED AND APPROVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS, THIS $2^{\rm ND}$ DAY OF AUGUST 2022.

ATTEST:	APPROVED:
Stacy Henderson, TRMC, City Secretary	Robert C. Dye, Mayor
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	
Peter G. Smith, City Attorney (kbl:7/25/2022:130696)	