

# City of Farmers Branch Meeting Minutes City Council

Farmers Branch City Hall 13000 Wm Dodson Pkwy Farmers Branch, Texas 75234

Tuesday, May 17, 2022	4:30 PM	Council Chambers

Council Members: Mayor Robert Dye, Mayor Pro Tem Cristal Retana, Council Elect Omar Roman, Council Members: Council Member Traci Williams, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Michael Driskill; Council Member Terry Lynne, Council Elect Richard Jackson and Council Member David Merritt

> City Manager Charles Cox, Deputy City Manager John Land, Assistant City Manager **Staff:** Benjamin Williamson, City Secretary Amy Piukana, City Attorney Peter G. Smith, Police Chief David Hale, Acting Fire Chief Daniel Latimer, Director of Human Resources Brian Beasley, Director of Public Works Marc Bentley, Director of Sustainability & Health Shane Davis, Director of Planning & Zoning/Economic Development Allison Cook, and Director of Communications Jeff Brady

## CALL TO ORDER - 4:30 P.M.

Mayor Dye called the meeting to order at 4:32 p.m. and provided the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance and pledge to the Texas flag.

Mayor Dye noted before any action is taken, a resident has requested to speak on Item B.3. Mr. James Lockridge who resides at 11771 Mira Lago Vista, expressed gratitude to the Mayor and City Manager for meeting with him, noting this is a step in the right direction.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

A motion was made by Council Member Retana, seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Driskill, that Consent Items be approved, as presented.

Council Member Lynne asked if the City will drop citations and fines after the Ordinance is passed.

City Manager Cox explained this ordinance change was due to a request from nine (9) legislative representatives, noting the city is accommodating them. He further stated the City acted in accordance with statue, followed state law and is not in any violation.

Mr. Cox explained the City Council cannot make the final determination on citations or judicial items, noting a Judge would make the final determination on excusing any fines.

Council Member Lynne asked that the City Attorney reach out to the Judge or his assistant encouraging them to do the right thing.

The following vote was taken:

Aye: 5 - Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Retana, Council Member Williams, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Driskill, Council Member Lynne and Council Member Merritt

# B.1 22-282 Consider approving the following City Council meeting minutes; and take appropriate action

- May 3, 2022 Regular Meeting
- B.2 R2022-044 Consider approving Resolution No. 2022-044 accepting the retirement of Charles S. Cox as City Manager effective May 31, 2022 and appointing John Land to serve in the capacity of Interim City Manager for the City of Farmers Branch; and take appropriate action

<b>B.3</b>	ORD-3746	Consider adopting Ordinance No. 3746 amending Chapter 56 of the
		Property Maintenance Code, Section 56-53, "maintenance of crops", to
		remove paragraph (3) maximum height of crops allowed; and amend
		paragraph (21) of Section 56-61(b) to remove the maximum time
		allowed for hay bales; and take appropriate action

B.4 R2022-064 Consider approving Resolution No. 2022-064 awarding the bid and authorizing a unit price contract to SYB Construction Co., Inc. for the Water Main Replacement Group A project; and take appropriate action

#### REGULAR AGENDA ITEMS

C.1 R2022-062 Consider approving Resolution No. 2022-062 canvassing and declaring the results of the May 7, 2022 General Election for City Council District 1 and City Council District 4, providing oath of offices; and take appropriate action

A motion was made by Council Member Merritt, seconded by Council Member Lynne, that Resolution No. 2022-062 be accepted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Mayor Pro Tem Retana, Council Member Williams, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Driskill, Council Member Lynne and Council Member Merritt

# C.2 22-268 Remarks from former City Council Member Cristal Retana, District 1 and welcome remarks from newly elected Council Member Omar Roman

Mayor Dye recognized Cristal Retana for her service on the City Council and provided her with a plaque recognition and street sign in honor of her years for service. He noted the served with integrity and has connected community several organizations.

Former Council Member Retana provided a farewell speech.

Ms. Julie Hershenberg provided the oath of office to Omar Roman. Mayor Dye presented the Certificate of Election and City Council pin.

Council Member Roman expressed gratitude to his supporters and provided welcome remarks.

C.3 22-267 Remarks from former City Council Member Terry Lynne, District 4 and welcome remarks from newly elected Council Member Richard Jackson

Mayor Dye recognized Terry Lynne for his service on the City Council and provided him with a plaque recognition and street sign in honor of his years for service. He noted how impressed he was with his service to the community.

Ms. Faith Johnson provided the oath of office to Richard Jackson. Mayor Dye presented the Certificate of Election and City Council pin.

Council Member Jackson expressed gratitude to his supporters and provided welcome remarks.

#### RECEPTION - FRONT LOBBY (5:30 P.M.)

#### D.1 22-281 Reception honoring outgoing and incoming new City Council Members

Mayor Dye noted a reception honoring outgoing and new coming City Council Members will be held in the front lobby.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Mayor Dye declared the meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Approved by: Robert C. Dye, Mayor Signed by: Amy M. Piukana, City Secretary

