

# City of Farmers Branch

Farmers Branch City Hall 13000 Wm Dodson Pkwy Farmers Branch, Texas 75234

## **Legislation Text**

File #: R2017-105, Version: 1

Consider approving Resolution No. 2017-105, establishing a Charter Review Committee and establishing Charter Review Committee guidelines; and take appropriate action.

#### BACKGROUND:

The City Council may amend the charter no more than once every two years. The last Charter amendment election was held November 5, 2013. The City Charter requires the Charter Review Committee to have no less than one (1) representative from every voting precinct in the City, unless the precinct includes fewer than 100 registered voters, in which case the precinct would be combined with one or more contiguous City precincts. With two (2) precincts (Precinct 2308 and Precinct 2312) having fewer than 100 registered voters, the required number of precinct appointments must be ten (10) Precincts. The City Council is required to appoint at least one representative from each of the following ten (10) Precincts: 2300, 2301, 2302/08, 2303, 2305, 2306, 2307, 2309, 2310/12, and 2311. The City Attorney, or designee, and the City Manager, or designee, shall serve as exofficio, non-voting members.

#### **DISCUSSION:**

The City began advertising for a Charter Review Committee in April 2017. The City Secretary received 36 applications to serve on the Charter Review Committee. The City Secretary asked each Council Member to submit two (2) nominations from two (2) Precincts within their Council Districts. The Mayor selected two (2) nominations, at large. The Charter Review Chair nomination is Nancy Hardie. This brings the total number of Charter Review Committee Members to thirteen.

The City Council submitted the following nominations for the Charter Review Committee:

### Chair:

Nancy Hardie (Precinct 2310/2312)

#### **Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Bomgardner:**

Grayson Hall (Precinct 2300) Mike DelValle (Precinct 2301)

#### **Council Member Reyes:**

Whitney Thomas (Precinct 2302/2308) Jeffery Bernal (Precinct 2311)

#### **Council Member Blackson:**

Joe Ernest Nanez (Precinct 2303) Vanessa Serrano (Precinct 2305)

### **Terry Lynne:**

David Koch (Precinct 2306) Johnathan Smith (Precinct 2307)

## File #: R2017-105, Version: 1

# John Norwood:

Harry Currie (Precinct 2309) Sally Derrick (Precinct 2310/2312)

## **Mayor Dye:**

Scott Wilson (Precinct 2301) Carol Dingman (Precinct 2305)

# ATTACHMENTS:

1. Resolution No. 2017-105