

Legislation Text

File #: 20-263, Version: 1

Consider appointing a member to the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force; and take appropriate action

BACKGROUND:

The City Council approved Resolution No. 2020-25 establishing the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force to identify opportunities for improving mobility and aesthetics of the IH-35E highway corridor within the City of Farmers Branch. With the recent resignation of Giovanni Zavala (Planning and Zoning Commission), a vacancy has occurred. Planning and Zoning Commissioner Tim Yarbrough has applied to fill this vacancy on the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force.

DISCUSSION:

The Resolution states the Task Force Appointments shall consist of the Mayor, Director of Planning (and/or designee), Director of Public Works (and/or designee), Director of Sustainability and Public Health (and/or designee), Director of Parks and Recreation (and/or designee), one member of the Planning and Zoning Commission, one member of the Public Arts and Culture Committee, and other members as deemed necessary by the Mayor with the consent of the Council.

The following members currently serve on the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force:

- Matthew Peters (Public Arts and Culture Committee)
- Marc Bentley (Public Works Department)
- VACANT (Planning and Zoning Commission)
- Robert C. Dye (Mayor)
- Pam Smith (Parks and Recreation Department)
- John Land (Deputy City Manager/City Manager's Office)
- Tina Firgens (Planning Department)
- Shane Davis (Sustainability and Public Health Department)
- Cristal Retana (Council Member)

RECOMMENDATION:

City Administration recommends the City Council appoint Tim Yarbrough to serve on the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force.

POSSIBLE COUNCIL ACTION:

- 1. I move to appoint Tim Yarbrough to serve on the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force.
- 2. I move to table the issue for further study or take no action.

ATTACHMENT:

- 1. Board Details
- 2. Resolution No. 2020-25