

City of Farmers Branch

Farmers Branch City Hall 13000 Wm Dodson Pkwy Farmers Branch, Texas 75234

Legislation Text

File #: R2021-090, Version: 1

Consider approving Resolution No. 2021-090 re-establishing the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force; and take appropriate action

BACKGROUND:

The Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force ad hoc committee's purpose is to identify opportunities for improving mobility and aesthetics of the IH-35E highway corridor including (but not limited to) structural improvements, intersection designs, sidewalks, hike and bike trail connectivity, landscaping, lighting, public art, and overhead utility relocation, and make recommendations as needed to the Mayor and City Council.

The Task Force is proposed to consist of thirteen persons including: the Mayor; a representative from each of the Planning and Zoning Commission and Art and Culture Committee; one member appointed by each member of the City Council; and staff members from various city departments as provided for in the resolution. These participants will be appointed by the Mayor, and additional appointees may be identified as needed. The Mayor will serve as the chair of the Task Force.

The Task Force Resolution No. 2021-005 dissolved the Committee on July 1, 2021. The proposed Resolution No. 2021-090 re-establishes the Mayor's IH-35E Betterments Task Force ad hoc committee to dissolve December 31, 2021, unless otherwise continued by resolution of the City Council. Due to Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT) delaying their conditional design build contract award to July 29, 2021, the task force is having to be re-established to complete any final recommendations for City Council's consideration later this year.

The members of the IH-35E Betterments Task Force shall consist of the following persons including the Mayor's appointments:

•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 1 Robert Dye
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 2 Tina Firgens
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 3 Marc Bentley
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 4 Shane Davis
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 5 Ross Pittman
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 6 Bonnie Potraza
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 7 Matthew A Peters
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 8 Cristal Retana
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 9 Natalie Lundsteen
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 10 Jorge Gonzalez
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 11 Marcus Miller
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 12 Richard Jackson
•	Mayor's Betterments Task Force	Place 13 Tamara Cleghorn

FISCAL IMPACT:

File #: R2021-090, Version: 1

1. No Financial Impact

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends approval of Resolution No. 2021-090.

POSSIBLE COUNCIL ACTION:

- 1. Motion to approve Resolution No. 2021-090
- 2. Motion to approve Resolution No. 2021-090 with the following modifications...
- 3. Motion to deny Resolution No. 2021-090.
- 4. Motion to table the issue for further study or take no action.

ATTACHMENT(S):

1. Resolution No. 2021-090